Call Us +94-11-5588800 |

20th Annual General Meeting of the Sri Lanka – Russia Business Council of the Ceylon Chamber of Commerce

0 / 5
Add to favorites Print

The 20th Annual General Meeting of the Sri Lanka – Russia Business Council of the Ceylon Chamber of Commerce (SLRBC) was held on 26th September 2023 at the Cinnamon Grand, Colombo 03. The event was graced by the presence of H. E. Levan Dzhagaryan, Ambassador of the Embassy of the Russian Federation in Sri Lanka who graciously participated as the Chief Guest.

Speaking on the occasion of the 20th Annual General Meeting of the Sri Lanka-Russia Business Council of the Ceylon Chamber of Commerce (SLRBC) H. E. Levan Dzhagaryan, Ambassador emphasized that “during the first three months of 2023 Russia remained the top source of tourism to Sri Lanka with the average share of 24% of tourist arrivals. Since the beginning of 2023, Russia accounts for 14% share of tourist arrivals to the Island and takes the second place in the number of tourists.”

The keynote speaker, Ms. Aruni Liyanagunawardana, Assistant General Manager of Overseas Customer Services of People’s Bank, discussed the remittance facilities established by People’s Bank to facilitate Inward Remittances to the country, with a focus on the services offered to the export sector, tourism industry and the expatriate community, thereby strengthening the economy.

Acknowledging the need for a stronger focus on bilateral trade, Mr. Jude Fernando, Director, Rhino Roofing Products Limited who was elected as the President of the SLRBC for 2023/24 said he would work ‘closely with the relevant authorities to promote more business between Russia and Sri Lanka, in the areas of Tea, Travel, Tourism, Gems, Jewellery and others.’

Mr. Buddhapriya Ramanayake, Managing Director, Maxims Overseas Holdings (Pvt) Ltd, and Mr. Prabath Harshakumar, Vice President – John Keells Holdings and Head of Business Development, Walkers Tours Ltd have been elected as the Vice Presidents of the SLRBC for the period 2023/24.
Ms. Shamindi Kumarasinghe, Head of Exports, Nature’s Beauty Creations Limited elected as the Treasurer to the Council and Mr. Kolitha Wickremasinghe, Managing Director, SALOTA International (Pvt) Ltd joined the committee in his capacity as the Immediate Past President.

The committee elected for the period 2023/24 will be represented by; Avian Technologies (Pvt) Ltd, Ceylon Fresh Teas (Pvt) Ltd, Freight Links International (Pte) Ltd, HVA Food PLC, Millennium Teas (Pvt) Ltd, Regency Teas (Pvt) Ltd, Scanwell Logistics Colombo (Pvt) Ltd, Shan Teas (Pvt) Ltd and Unitrades (Pvt) Ltd.

  • Location Russia